

Office of the Town Council

David Dawson, Executive Director Kim Ann Wardlow, Director of Marketing Audio Information Network of Colorado 2200 Central Avenue Boulder, CO 80301

Paul A. Narduzzo, Regional Office Director-Castle Rock Catholic Charities of Central Colorado 228 North Cascade Avenue Colorado Springs. CO 80903

Michael J. Prendergast, President Jennifer Walker, Executive Director Crisis Center PO Box 367 Castle Rock, CO 80104

Diane Leavesley, Executive Director Ken Kania, Board Chair Douglas County Housing Partnership 9350 Heritage Hills Circle Lone Tree, CO 80124 April 5, 2016

Kurt Kaczor, Executive Director Jim Weglarz, Board Chair Douglas/Elbert Task Force 1638 Park Street Castle Rock, CO 80109

Steve Budnack, Volunteer Chairman Diane Roth, Vice President Board of Directors Parker Task Force for Human Services 19105 Longs Way Parker, CO 80134

Dennis Gorton, Executive Director Southeast Community Outreach 16965 Pine Lane, Suite 100 Parker, CO 80134

Robert Lindeman, Grants Manager Society of St. Vincent de Paul 2250 South Harrison Street Denver, CO 80210

Thank you for your letter concerning CDBG funds and the Town of Castle Rock. Last year, when faced with the question of whether the Town should become an entitlement community under the CDBG program, the Council declined to pursue that status because it would result in unclear and unwarranted interference from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). For years Castle Rock has accepted various grant monies offered by HUD through Douglas County. This money was parceled out by Town Council mainly to fix alleyways and make curbs ADA accessible. But last year HUD added very alarming strings to the grants; 377 pages of new rules that give HUD drastic new powers over our cities and counties that in affect eliminate the zoning and planning powers of your local elected officials which can now be overruled by HUD bureaucrats in Washington DC.

If we continue to accept the HUD grants, we will be forced to prepare detailed taxpayer-financed studies of our schools, retail, housing, and other community aspects to HUD who will decide if our neighborhoods are "furthering fair housing." That means that even though our town has never been found in violation of the anti-discrimination housing rules that have been law for over 50 years, HUD on a whim could force us to build low-income, government subsidized housing

into our neighborhoods if HUD decides we aren't racially balanced enough. This is already happening across the U.S.; just google Westchester County, New York.

One example: according to HUD, if your family home sits on a quarter-acre property, your neighborhood is potentially discriminatory. It would be much less racist if a high-rise low-income apartment building went up next door, never mind local zoning regulations.

The result for us could be reduced property values, a large population increase due to an influx of people from the cities to our suburbs, more crime, large local tax increases to support HUD's mandate, and loss of local zoning control and other local decisions.

As a Town Council, we will resist all federal attempt to destroy our local sovereignty, be it from HUD, the EPA, or any other government agency. Council will always defend our resident's right to make their own local decisions without federal interference. While I appreciate the many good works that are represented by your programs, accepting onerous federal grant requirements which harm our community cannot be the price to pay for federal monies.

Sincerely,

Paul Donahue

Mayor, District 1

Jenhifer Green Mayor Pro Tem, District 3

Renee Valentine Councilmember District 5

George Teal Councilmember District 6

Mark Heath Councilmember District 2

Office of the Town Clerk



To:Honorable Mayor and Members of Town CouncilFrom:Lisa Anderson, Deputy Town Clerk

Title: Record of Vote

Executive Summary

According to the Minutes of the August 18, 2015; Mayor Pro-Tem Green made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Teal, to direct staff to decline participation in the CDBG program in the future.

The motion passed by the following vote:

Brett FordNot PresentGeorge TealYesRenee ValentineYesPaul DonahueYesJennifer GreenYesChip WilsonNoMark HeathYes